Why do TS rips fail (K-Lite or SUU Codecs) over 100 MB?

All about the program
Post Reply
juzzle
Posts: 18
Joined: 08 Jan 2017, 05:11

27 Apr 2020, 22:07

More often than not, TS videos over 100 MB fail to rip, as shown here:

Image

I am not using the Ultimate or Crystal engine, although they produce the same results. Instead, I am the using K-Lite Codec pack.

MediaInfo says the file is:

Format : MPEG-TS
Overall bit rate mode : Variable
Overall bit rate : 590 kb/s
Format: : AVC (which I assume is H.264)
Color space: : YUV
Chroma: : 4:2:0
Bit depth: : 8 bit
Scan type: : Progressive

Sometimes some of the files will rip correctly on a second go, but generally they fail again.

LAV Video Decoder settings look like this:

Image

LAV Splitter settings look like this:

Image

[Ryzen 7, 16 GB RAM]

Any tips please to optimise my decoding settings or other?
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 984
Joined: 03 Jun 2014, 22:14

27 Apr 2020, 22:26

Not sure, but I would play with:

1) Lower Threads for Multi-Threading.
2) Set HD and UHD (4k) checkboxes ON in hardware Acceleration section.
3) Try to set OFF Hardware Decoder if possible.

Could you share an example of video that fails?
juzzle
Posts: 18
Joined: 08 Jan 2017, 05:11

01 May 2020, 00:42

Thanks. I've tried those settings, but nothing changed.

I've DMd you some random samples from a source that produces the same format video and for which the rips failed whether I am using Codec-Dependent or Codec-Independent (VTM) video rendering engines.

I am very interested to see if you have the same problematic ripping experience.
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 984
Joined: 03 Jun 2014, 22:14

01 May 2020, 08:19

Please try to use Crystal engine in settings.
It produced sheets without errors, I used Special Matrix 9 for testing.
Ultimate fails in my case too. Will try to find the reason.
juzzle
Posts: 18
Joined: 08 Jan 2017, 05:11

02 May 2020, 02:56

Thanks for that investigation.

I attempted to rerip all 5, each being 500 MB ish, using Special Matrix 9 and Crystal Inbuilt-Codec - it took 5 hours on a Ryzen 8 Core - they all failed :shock:

Why did it take so long to process? Why did you get different result using the same inbuilt codec?

The only thing is the diagnostic log was
[INFO] [19:26:32] Program started
:(

My version: 14.2.0 Silver
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 984
Joined: 03 Jun 2014, 22:14

05 Jul 2020, 20:32

Hello,

Please check VTM version 15.1.0.0.
It should process your TS files correctly using External Engines (I have tested using K-Lite codec pack).
Post Reply