Page 1 of 2

H264/H265 encoding doesn't work

Posted: 12 Nov 2019, 04:15
by mathimid
Hi there,
I have a little issue with the new H264/H265 animation encoding feature. Doesn't matter which setup i choose (frame width, number and length of sections, engine type, multithread on/off, matrix type, encoding quality, run as admin, aso), it simply abordes the encoding. When i chosse, that it just have to encode 2 sections, it seems to encode properly, but the outcoming file is broken and can't be opened by any player. Even the VLC produces an error message. Tried on my main system with my licenced version (AMD CPU) and on my laptop with the free not-licenced version (Intel CPU). Both with the same result. Theora works fine.

Re: H264/H265 encoding doesn't work

Posted: 12 Nov 2019, 13:04
by admin
Hi,

I did not mention that, but
new H.264/H.265 works only on GPUs with hardware support of that formats.

For instance, for Nvidia, you can check your Video Card here:
https://developer.nvidia.com/video-enco ... ort-matrix

Could you please post specs of your Video Cards, so I could check them too?

Re: H264/H265 encoding doesn't work

Posted: 12 Nov 2019, 15:55
by mathimid
That explains a lot. I have in both systems older NVIDIA graphic cards.

Re: H264/H265 encoding doesn't work

Posted: 08 Dec 2019, 02:43
by js93
admin wrote:
12 Nov 2019, 13:04
Hi,

I did not mention that, but
new H.264/H.265 works only on GPUs with hardware support of that formats.

For instance, for Nvidia, you can check your Video Card here:
https://developer.nvidia.com/video-enco ... ort-matrix

Could you please post specs of your Video Cards, so I could check them too?
Hi, I have a gold licence. H264/H265 encoding doesn't work in my case neither. After selecting H.264 or H265 it shows a progression of maximum 2 bars and afterwards it stops automatically without any output.
I checked the specs of my graphic card (NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050 (GP107M)) through your link, my card is supposed to be compatible with this encoding however I cannot make it work. :cry:
Excellent software by the way.

Re: H264/H265 encoding doesn't work

Posted: 08 Dec 2019, 11:39
by admin
js93 wrote:
08 Dec 2019, 02:43
Hi, I have a gold licence. H264/H265 encoding doesn't work in my case neither. After selecting H.264 or H265 it shows a progression of maximum 2 bars and afterwards it stops automatically with any output.
I checked the specs of my graphic card (NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050 (GP107M)) through your link, my card is supposed to be compatible with this encoding however I cannot make it work. :cry:
Excellent software by the way.
Hi,
Please try to turn OFF mutithreading in animation Options.
Also please try to enable/disable the sound.
I will check the issue on my side.

Re: H264/H265 encoding doesn't work

Posted: 19 Dec 2019, 22:15
by js93
admin wrote:
08 Dec 2019, 11:39
js93 wrote:
08 Dec 2019, 02:43
Hi, I have a gold licence. H264/H265 encoding doesn't work in my case neither. After selecting H.264 or H265 it shows a progression of maximum 2 bars and afterwards it stops automatically with any output.
I checked the specs of my graphic card (NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050 (GP107M)) through your link, my card is supposed to be compatible with this encoding however I cannot make it work. :cry:
Excellent software by the way.
Hi,
Please try to turn OFF mutithreading in animation Options.
Also please try to enable/disable the sound.
I will check the issue on my side.
Hi, I tried it but still it doesn't work.

Re: H264/H265 encoding doesn't work

Posted: 15 Feb 2020, 15:38
by wlangstr
I have also problems with H264/H265


In the log is writen:
[ANIM] [13:30:41] .... [mp4 @ 01e6dd00] Could not find tag for codec theora in stream #0, codec not currently supported in container
[ANIM] [13:30:41] .... Could not write header for output file #0 (incorrect codec parameters ?): Invalid argument
[ANIM] [13:30:41] .... Error initializing output stream 0:0 --
[INFO] [13:30:42] H265 animation: aborted

my video-card is a RX 580

Re: H264/H265 encoding doesn't work

Posted: 15 Feb 2020, 16:39
by admin
wlangstr, I do not have an AMD card to test.

Please run this simple card detection application
VideoCardDetector.zip
(3.08 KiB) Downloaded 418 times
and post results here.

Re: H264/H265 encoding doesn't work

Posted: 28 Mar 2020, 12:19
by wlangstr
The results of the tool is:
Radeon RX 580 Series
Not_detected

Re: H264/H265 encoding doesn't work

Posted: 29 Mar 2020, 08:08
by admin
Finally,
120 downloads and someone posted results ;) Thank you.

Will add support to the next version of VTM.