.NET Framework woes. (now Trusteer Rapport)

All about the program

Re: .NET Framework woes.

Postby Doddie » 03 Aug 2017, 20:55

<Log deleted, irrelevant>
Last edited by Doddie on 23 Aug 2017, 16:19, edited 1 time in total.
Doddie
 
Posts: 19
Joined: 25 Sep 2014, 17:27

Re: .NET Framework woes.

Postby Doddie » 03 Aug 2017, 20:56

<Log deleted, irrelevant>
Last edited by Doddie on 23 Aug 2017, 16:19, edited 1 time in total.
Doddie
 
Posts: 19
Joined: 25 Sep 2014, 17:27

Re: .NET Framework woes.

Postby Doddie » 04 Aug 2017, 21:07

Well, after finding and running the ".NET Framework Setup Verification Tool" I've decided that .NET may not have been the problem after all as all the versions on my PC passed without a single issue... how I've got .NET framework 2.0 SP2 on my system though is beyond me, but with no option (apparently) available to uninstall it I'm stuck with it.. i'll probably format and re-install Windows over the weekend (if time permits).
cf. https://blogs.msdn.microsoft.com/astebn ... ers-guide/

Fwiw, the versions the tool above found were:
2.0 SP2
3.0 SP2
3.5 SP1
4 Client
4 Full
4.5
4.5.1
4.6
4.6.1
4.6.2
4.7

I removed all that i could again earlier and ran the tool above, all that was then listed was 2.0 SP2

I then re-enabled 3.5.1 in Control Panel > Programs and Features > Turn Windows features on or off > Microsoft .NET Framework 3.5.1, re-booted.
Ran Windows Update, chose 4.7 over the other two offered (4.5.1 & 4.6, i think) because it's supposed to be backwards compatible... and the list above is what i got after another reboot.

Anyway, I'm just letting you know the above just in case it proves to be useful because I've exhausted everything i can think of, whilst taking a sledge-hammer to crack a nut (my pc is otherwise stable) does feel a bit extreme it does appear to be my only option as VTM still isn't working like it should which likely means there's an underlying issue in my OS.

Thanks for your time.
Doddie
 
Posts: 19
Joined: 25 Sep 2014, 17:27

Re: .NET Framework woes.

Postby Doddie » 11 Aug 2017, 08:53

I've found out what's been causing VTM to slow down and it ISN'T .Net Framework.

I formatted my drive and as I re-installed my software I checked VTM as I went along...

The culprit is IBM Security Trusteer Rapport:
https://www.trusteer.com/en/support/rap ... tion-links

You were spot on in your suspicion that it might be security software related, to be honest I'd forgotten I had it installed until I went to my banks website and it flagged that I might want to consider installing it.

Anyway, I installed Trusteer and VTM immediately slowed down, as soon as I uninstalled Trusteer VTM speeds returned to normal, I tired this 3 times and every time the results were the same... I've since left Trusteer off my system until there's a resolution for the issue.

I'm unsure who to contact first about this, yourself or Trusteer, but as I'm already in discussion with you it would be appreciated if you can see if you can replicate this at your end... if you can then perhaps you can advise?

I'm running Windows 7 Professional x64, IE11 with Microsoft Security Essentials, Windows Firewall, Malwarebytes Premium 3.1.2, AdGuard 6.2 (Beta).

If you need any further information please ask.
Doddie
 
Posts: 19
Joined: 25 Sep 2014, 17:27

Re: .NET Framework woes.

Postby admin » 11 Aug 2017, 16:36

Congratulations and thank you for your feedback.
I know, that was not an easy thing ti find the reason.

As for Trusteer, I really do not know what should I change, because everything works as it should be.
VTM is obuscated, so, probably Trusteer spends a lot of time and CPU resources analyzing VTM at runtime.
I am not familiar with that tool, is it possible to exclude VTM from Trusteer checks (if you really want to do that)?
Of you could try to decrease the 'level of protection' in Trusteer, to force it to be not so paranoid ;)
Of course, it is up to you to perform that actions, becasue I do not want to harm anything.
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 425
Joined: 03 Jun 2014, 19:14

Re: .NET Framework woes.

Postby Doddie » 12 Aug 2017, 11:31

Thanks for getting back to me, as far as I can see it's not possible to exclude VTM from Trusteer, there are some settings that can be changed but nothing that I'd have thought would apply to third party software such as yours.

I've sent a report to Trusteer Technical Support detailing what my issue is along with the logs they requested and have just been assigned a case number, i'll let you know how I get on.
Doddie
 
Posts: 19
Joined: 25 Sep 2014, 17:27

Re: .NET Framework woes. (now Trusteer Rapport)

Postby Doddie » 20 Aug 2017, 19:12

I thought I'd update where I am on this:

IBM have asked various questions as part of their troubleshooting process, as a result of my answers they asked me to disable "Rapport Cerberus" in safe mode and that seems to be where the problem may be because VTM works as expected when it's disabled.

[Note: I didn't know "Rapport Cerberus" existed, there's no mention of it in the programme UI and the only way to disable it as far as I can tell is with the method they supplied... I won't post here what that method is because it was a troubleshooting step that was possibly specific to my pc, or issue.]

As a result of that finding they have now asked for me to send them my latest Rapport log files... I'm waiting to hear back from them.
Doddie
 
Posts: 19
Joined: 25 Sep 2014, 17:27

Re: .NET Framework woes. (now Trusteer Rapport)

Postby admin » 20 Aug 2017, 20:32

Thank you for letting us know about the progress.
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 425
Joined: 03 Jun 2014, 19:14

Re: .NET Framework woes. (now Trusteer Rapport)

Postby Doddie » 23 Aug 2017, 17:07

This is the latest, if I'm reading it correctly then IBM have identified the issue within their software and they will include a fix in a future build of Rapport.

There isn't a time scale given as to when that will happen, I guess it likely depends on how much of a headache it causes their software developers?... more than it caused me I hope! :lol:

Hey xxxxxx,

Following our team’s investigation we would like to let you know that the reported issue is being investigated by our developers and a fix should be included in a future release of Rapport.

Please be advised that at the current stage of the investigation we do not have a definitive time frame for resolution.

Your patience and cooperation in resolving this issue are highly appreciated.

Kind regards,

xxxx xxxx
Tier 2 Consumers Support Engineer
Trusteer, IBM Security Systems


FYI:
I deleted the log files I posted earlier in this thread because we now know for sure they were totally irrelevant and only served to make this thread a lot longer than it need be.
Aside from waiting for IBM to release a fix for this issue I consider the matter closed, though if and when IBM do release a fix and I hear about it first I will of course update you. (I'm relying on IBM to inform me when that happens because pending the fix Trusteer Rapport won't be on my PC!)

As a final note, hopefully this thread proves useful should anyone else suffer, or be suffering from the same combination of software.

Oh, one other final note... admin, whoever you are, outstanding job on your speedy replies given that I'm a newbie on your Forum :D
Doddie
 
Posts: 19
Joined: 25 Sep 2014, 17:27

Re: .NET Framework woes. (now Trusteer Rapport)

Postby admin » 23 Aug 2017, 17:18

Thank you for such detailed investigation and feedback!
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 425
Joined: 03 Jun 2014, 19:14

Previous

Return to Video Thumbnails Maker

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Feedfetcher and 2 guests

cron